Menu: Scrummy English Comfort Food


menu09

6 comments

  1. I love Shepherds pie and ploughmans lunches :-)

    However, a small correction, Shepherds pie is normally lamb and potato. The beef and potato dish is called Cottage Pie. However these might well be localised interpretations but my wife who comes from a different part of the country to me and agrees with me on the names.

    I have fond memories of eating ploughmans lunches in some beautiful country pubs on my travels around the UK. The best ploughmans consist of a huge chunk of really strong mature cheddar cheese, homemade pickle and either homemade crusty cobs or thick slices of wholegrain bread eaten outside in the fresh air :-)

    I’m not sure I’d call banoffee pie traditional English desert. I think that is a more recent import from the US to be honest. Give me a quality home made sherry trifle any day over the banoffee pie ;-)

    Ian

    1. Well that’s enlightening! And I am pretty sure whatever you said is legit since you ARE from the UK. I guess I stand corrected. I grew up eating Shepherd’s Pie composed of beef and potatoes so I apologize. :-) oh, and lamb is quite expensive here. I will be making the salad with crusty ciabatta and sharp cheddar cheese so I guess I got that one right :-D

      With the banoffee pie, all along I thought that this dessert originated from the regions of UK. Hmm…

  2. LOL, no need to apologise, even within the UK there are different opinions on what certain dishes are comprised of. Lamb is also very expensive here too, it is a meat that we don’t often eat even though we love the taste of it. Far too expensive.

    As for the banoffee pie, it is not a common traditional desert in the North of England, in fact I had never heard of it until a few years ago. However a quick google and look at wiki suggests you are quite correct, it was invented right down in the south east of England but only recently, in 1972. It looks like it was based on a US desert though. It is certainly a recent thing as I don’t ever remember having anything like it as a child growing up. Much more common were deserts such as fruit pie and custard (or ice cream), apple or rhubarb crumbles, steamed puddings, rice pudding, bread and butter pudding and trifles. I think the cooler weather in the North of England meant that for 10 months of the year people wanted warm, heavy deserts! :-)

    The cottage pie and shepherds pie are much more traditional dishes form the North of England, in fact probably much less popular in the far south. They are often regarded as peasant food but they were a weekly meal in our household when I was a child along with fish pie.

    1. Yup. I guess lamb is a for-special-occasions kind of protein. I’d love to try some rice pudding. I have a couple of recipes stored for that but more on the Asian side, specifically Thai influenced. I love warm, heavy desserts as well. In fact, traditional Filipino desserts are most made out of sticky rice. Warm and heavy.

  3. I would have thought that the weather over there was too warm for heavy deserts? I’d pictured it hot and humid and more suiting a nice bowl of fresh fruit salad?

    1. The weather is warm. But it does not stop us from eating anything, even heavy desserts. We do have versions of fruit salads (including buko pandan) however, these desserts are more for occasions than an everyday thing. Sticky rice-based ones are more of the everyday thing and is almost available everywhere.

Leave a Reply

