Chocolate Pancakes and Foodista for Breakfast


IMG 3

I was still up at 1 in the morning trying to sleep when I decided to check my email through my phone for the last time just in case there was an urgent or important email that needs to be answered. The account for the blog showed one unread message. It was unusual for me to leave an unread message in my blog’s mail account since I get notified with a magical sound every time someone liked or followed my blog here in WordPress and then followed by the sound of the email notification. It was a routine. Nothing was displayed on my screen about anyone liking a post or followed my blog so what could it be?

foodblogoftheday

It turned out to be a who! It was Alisa Escanlar from Foodista.com informing me that my blog has been selected as Foodista’s Blog of the Day and that my Tiramisu Torte post will be featured on Foodista.com’s homepage for 24 hours. I was jumping for joy at 1 in the morning.

This was intended to be a short post on another breakfast item for pancake lovers out there but with the recent happenings, I just had to insert this little news bit to share.

IMG

So, back to that breakfast. You all know how I love my light, fluffy pancakes. Well, here’s a chocolate version for that! I was not a chocolate lover before but as I worked with chocolate through the years, I became addicted to all forms of it. What I love about this recipe is how simple the ingredients are. I am pretty sure you have the ingredients in your pantry right now. I ate it with the homemade orange syrup I had left over from the previous pancake breakfast I had and it was a divine combination. The classic pairing of orange and chocolate proved to be timeless in any shape or form. If you happen to have maple syrup instead, go ahead. It wouldn’t hurt.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Here’s a tip I learned while browsing a few blogs: to have fluffy pancakes, let the batter stand for a few minutes after mixing in all the ingredients. The baking powder is double-acting, meaning, it reacts first when it comes in contact with a liquid and then reacts again when it comes with contact with heat. That will make the pancakes really nice and light and fluffy.

Chocolate Pancakes
Adapted from BeckyBakes

Serves 6

2 eggs
1 1/4 cups milk
3 tablespoons butter, melted
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 cup cocoa powder (I used natural unsweetened)
3/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
3 tablespoons sugar

Whisk together flour, cocoa, salt, baking powder, and sugar. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, beat the eggs and milk until light and foamy. Stir in melted butter. Add in flour mixture and mix until just blended. It may appear lumpy but it is okay.

Drop by 1/4 cupfuls onto a griddle heated to medium heat. Bake until bubbles start to form. Flip and cook another 1-2 minutes.

Serve with orange syrup for a different and refreshing breakfast or, maple syrup.

4 comments

  1. I’ve never had a chocolate pancake before. Sounds great.

    1. Thanks! You should try some! It is the perfect excuse to have chocolate for breakfast. ;-)

      1. And I look for ANY reason to have chocolate!

        1. Who doesn’t? I mean, give me a bar of chocolate for breakfast and I’m good to go! :-D

Leave a Reply

