This Angel hair with Zucchini Dish


I’ve had my fair share of pasta dishes in my life and I can firmly say that I would choose tomato-based pasta than a cream-based one, but if served with oil-based pasta, well, it’s going to be a tossup between the red and the shiny.

The internet is chock full of different recipes for pasta and it is really hard to decide which one to choose. But I’m certain that there will always be an encounter with a recipe that will make you consider trying that recipe out, and that’s what happened with me and this blog-worthy Angel hair with Zucchini.

Normally, I would be the one working at the middle table in our kitchen prepping for dinner but we were chasing time as it was about 7 in the evening already and we have work and class the next day, so my dad and brother volunteered to do the prepping for me as I hurry down the supermarket to buy some bread and chickpeas for the sandwich that would accompany the pasta. Yes, it was my youngest brother’s birthday, plus, my first pay check. I was able to plate the sandwich and side coleslaw in no time, and was able to unmold my mango mousse icebox cake requested by my brother for his birthday. As I was about to finish tossing the pasta in the sauce, I made sure that the table was set so that all that’s left is to feed.

zucchini

For me, it was the pasta that shone the brightest. It was light and fresh because there was no cream used. The sauce was made from a few tablespoons of butter, olive oil and pasta water, which then perfectly coated the thin strands of the angel hair. If we had four seasons here in the Philippines, I would say that this is a Spring dish. The color from the peas and the zucchini made the pasta more enticing. What I did add to my own bowl of pasta were a few pinches of red pepper flakes and some grated parmesan cheese. Wow. It was the perfect bowl of pasta! The spicy element elevated the pasta notches higher than what it was before, and maybe, I just thought of this now, add some lemon zest to finish it off. It would be perfect! We never had zucchini in pasta before and now, I am probably going to make this again. Also, if you want to make it a vegetarian dish, you can leave out the bacon and maybe add some mushrooms, but that’s going to take away the Spring-y feeling. A crusty bread and a bowl of this Angel hair with zucchini pasta is all you’ll need for a light and satisfying lunch or supper.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

The recipe originally called for spaghetti but I swapped it with angel hair pasta, making it lighter than ever!

Angel hair with Zucchini
Adapted from Manila Spoon

Serves 6 to 8

2 Tbsp olive oil
3 Tbsp butter
1 medium size onion
4 strips of bacon (you may trim it of some fat, if you wish), chopped
3 medium to large zucchini (cut lengthwise first, then halved)
2 cups green peas (frozen)
salt and pepper
12 oz (3/4 lb), spaghetti or thin spaghetti (like angel hair)
Grated Parmesan, to pass around

Cook the pasta according to package directions.

While you are cooking the pasta, melt the butter in the oil in a large skillet. When the butter has melted, saute the onion until it has softened, about 5 minutes. Add the bacon and cook for another 5 minutes.

Stir in the zucchini. Cook just until tender, about 3-5 minutes. They are cooked when you can easily pierced them with a knife or fork. Add the frozen peas and continue to cook just until tender, another 2-3 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Mix the pasta with the zucchini sauce.

Serve with parmesan cheese on the side.

2 comments

  1. Sounds like a great simple pasta dish!

    1. It really is! Try it and let me know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

