Two-Year Hiatus


Two years.

I can’t believe it has been two years since my last post.

In between those two years, a lot has happened, not only to myself, but to my family and to my career. I am writing now just to let the readers of this blog (if there are any) that I am still here, alive and kicking, cooking up things that I feel is worthy for your eyes to eat.

In those two years, I have been working. Yes. I am currently a Clinical Research Associate in one of the reputable specialty eye clinics here in Makati, and being employed means that I have some extra bucks to spend on some ingredients that we don’t commonly use. The downside though is the infamous dilemma on work-life balance.

Never did I realize how difficult it is to continue cooking and blogging while working during weekdays. You see, I now live in Antipolo City in the Province of Rizal. Ideally, it is a 55-minute commute but because of the awesome traffic we have here in Metro Manila, it usually takes me 2 hours to 2 hours and a half to reach home which is around 8 to 8:30 in the evening, not enough time to cook especially when you need to wake up at 4 in the morning and leave for work at 5. Don’t get me wrong here. I am not complaining about the job. I like it. I am whining about the traffic, about the time lost during commute.

Rockwell to Antipolo

Rockwell to Antipolo

During the weekend, I divide my time cooking, house chores, and the garden. Now, I will ensure to allot some time to resuscitate this blog and share with you some of the recipes I was able to try within those 2 years. Oh, and I will probably include sections on restaurant reviews (non-professional opinions of course) and recipes from cookbooks.

One thing’s for sure — Gourmet Sunday is still on!

3 comments

  1. Hi, welcome back to blogging! :-)

    I know exactly what you mean about work life balance because I have been working 50-60 hours a week on top of 8-10 hours driving a week. I am usually so shattered that I just want to sleep most of the weekend! I have been neglecting my blog too and also neglecting to catch up with other blogs. This is the first time I’ve looked at the reader in the last 7 days.

    I look forward to reading about the food and restaurants. I would also enjoy looking at some pictures of Manila and the places you visit.

    Regards,

    Ian

    1. Hey Ian! Long time! I know. The work hours plus the commute time consumes most of the 24 hours in a day. Thank God for weekends! This is my first time to open the reader in 2 years and my gosh did it change. I spent about 15 minutes just to reorient myself to how it worked again. Thanks for the warm welcome back! I’ll make sure to share the best that I can, especially places here in the Philippines for your future visit here alright?
      Best,
      Gino

  2. Thanks Gino :-)

Leave a Reply

